Yoga=spooky

I mentioned a long time ago that I had heard some folks believe that yoga is evil.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2007/11/29/pat-robertson-not-down-wi_n_74527.html

So? What does anybody think?

Correction: in the video, Robertson does not call yoga evil, he calls it spooky. No word on the spiritual state of Pilates – although given the name, I’m not hopeful! 🙂

5 Responses to “Yoga=spooky”


  1. 1 YogaDawg November 30, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    I thought the story was a piece of satire.

  2. 2 hdolezalek December 1, 2007 at 12:54 am

    No, it was a question he took on the 700 club. There’s a video at the link if you’d like to see it. But as I corrected in the post, he didn’t say it was evil, he said it was spooky.
    All I can add is that I’ve done many yoga classes and never been asked to merge my consciousness with anything or say any words that I didn’t know the meaning of. (“Namaste” means “I bow to you,” and literally is a word of greeting between one soul and another.) People have spoken of living peacefully, nothing more.

  3. 3 John December 2, 2007 at 6:46 am

    I’ve mentioned before that I was extravagantly indoctrinated by the AG. I remember one chapel speaker in particular who traveled on the conversion story that she had to be delivered from the demons she acquired from doing yoga. She also told the story of praying for the healing of her sewing machine because it broke down while she was making a dress she needed for a ‘special’ crusade, and giving God honor for its subsequent ‘healing’.
    I have encountered many ‘good’ Christians who would never dream of doing yoga because they ‘heard’ you can become demon possessed. The interpretation of Namaste and the ‘opening of your consciousness’ has been another reason they avoid the practice.

  4. 4 John December 2, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Really… why educate yourself, when living under pre-conceived notions is so much safer to your world view?

  5. 5 Kerry December 3, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    Only a complete idiot would believe that stretching your body in a pose & uttering a word would open you to be possessed by demons. A person is possessed by ‘demons’ because they’ve allowed themselves to be. Saying this also displays the xenophobia & innate fear of Robertson.


Leave a Reply

