More on anxiety

I titled my last post “Anxiety” for a reason, although I never explained it. My coming-and-going approach to this blog is the result of many factors, but one of them is that I’m in the process of learning to cope with what it turns out is anxiety. Go figure. It’s not my favorite topic to discuss, but it seems fair to give readers an explanation for my long disappearances, and let’s just say that I’ve been having my good days and bad days.

Moving on, I’ve just heard about the production of The Golden Compass, a movie adapted from a book by the same name by Philip Pullman. The book is the first in a trilogy called “His Dark Materials.” I’ve read none of them, although they were recommended to me years ago by a friend of mine.

Looks like the movie is going to be controversial. This Baptist press article describes the book’s apparently anti-Christian theme. Again, having not read the books, I’m in no position to discuss the reasonableness or lack thereof of opposition to the movie. But now I think I’m going to have to read the books.

Has anyone else read these? The movie comes out in about two weeks, and it’s intriguing to me that the producers of the movie have chosen to release the movie near Christmas. I can’t imagine that they’ve failed to tone down some of the potentially offensive stuff, but then again if the theme is prevalent it might be like trying to take the Christianity out of The Chronicles of Narnia.

1 Response to “More on anxiety”


  1. 1 Ed November 26, 2007 at 4:38 am

    The Golden Compass is a good story, well written. The fictional world portrayed has an organization that resembles the Roman Church at its worst. Such a portrayal is hardly controversial to most people today.

    The Subtle Knife (the second book in the series) is a more fragmented story, which takes place at least in part in our world. In this story, because it is in our world, it becomes apparent that some figures are rather two dimensional and uninteresting. It also becomes apparent that the caricature of the Roman church in the first book is meant to be connected by a cross-world conspiracy of sorts. This is far more demeaning to the Roman church, I think, than anything in the first book.

    The final book, The Amber Spyglass, at times becomes an anti-Christian screed. The story is unsatisfying, in my opinion, even leaving out its strong bias against Christianity (and theism) in general and Roman Catholicism in particular. What is worse, though, is the disintegration of the story line and lack of a satisfying ending. I am strongly biased towards Christianity, but I can still enjoy a well-written story from a point of view different from mine. The first volume I enjoyed greatly, the second I tolerated, and the third I labored to get through.


Leave a Reply

