The Quakers and a question

Inspired by the Belief-o-Matic, I visited the Quakers again yesterday. The thing that bothers me is that although I feel some things in the silence, I don’t feel God. It makes me wonder: Is it possible that your experience of God is often dictated by your upbringing?

Most of you probably go to church pretty regularly. You probably pray regularly too, and sometimes talk these issues over with friends. So if you’re going to have an experience where you feel God is present, in what circumstances is that experience likely to take place?

For me, those experiences are generally when I’m alone. I realized that the other day, but it occurred to me more forcibly at the Quaker silence. I’m almost always alone, in fact, and usually I’m outdoors. The one exception is the Catholic mass I went to, but the music was so overwhelming that it precluded almost any interaction with the people there. I guess I’m used to having these experiences while I’m alone. So what’s that all about? Do I need isolation from humanity to get in touch with God?

2 Responses to “The Quakers and a question”


  1. 1 tobeme July 16, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Here’s a thought, if God is within you then it would make sense that you would hear or experience God when you are alone.

  2. 2 michael July 19, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    i think one can experience some of the character of god in the company of others, as god did not want us to be alone. but i think he also calls us to seek him in solitude (mark 1:35).

    i feel many think service alone is experencing god but that falls short of christ’s example.

    i think we all need to ignore the noise in our heads and learn to be still before god, and just listen. it often takes tragedy or significant events for us to do that but it is necessary.

    exodus 14:14…the lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.


Leave a Reply

