Things that make an agnostic believe in God

Whatever I say on this blog, I most definitely believe in God. There are some things which defy any other explanation. One of those things happened yesterday, and it made me laugh. As I’ve mentioned, I’m deathly ill for the second time this month. I had a bad cold that seemed to go away, but apparently the germs hid out in my lungs and mutated into some kind of horror-movie germs that can not only make me sicker than ever but also have opposable thumbs and the ability to make tools. Man.

Anyway, yesterday I determined that I had to go to the doctor. So I made an emergency appointment and headed out at the appointed time. My doctor is in downtown Minneapolis, which is not convenient now that I don’t work in downtown anymore. But I drove there without hitting a single red light. (I’m about five miles out of downtown.) I was headed for a parking garage more than a block away from the doctor’s office, when I spotted a meter less than half a block away. I parked at said meter (which is never, ever open; I used to work near there and I know this) and discovered that there was still some time on it from the previous occupant.

I arrived 15 minutes early, got in 10 minutes before my appointed time, waited for less than five minutes to talk to the doctor, got my scrip for antibiotics and was out of there. I then drove back home and didn’t hit a single red light on the way home. I’m not saying this is a miracle, but nothing like this has ever happened when I saw the doctor – I usually wait for 45 minutes and then have to wait 20 more once I get in – and the lack of red lights plus the meter suggest divine intervention.

 I am, however, still half dead. But I’m planning to visit the Presbyterians this Sunday.

2 Responses to “Things that make an agnostic believe in God”


  1. 1 tobeme March 21, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    Sorry to hear that your are so ill. Glad that you had a very good trip to the doctor. Not sure about divine intervention here, could be the power of intention, hmmmm.
    Hope you feel better soon.

  2. 2 shawnarenee March 21, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    I hope the antibiotics kick in, and you’re feeling better soon.


Leave a Reply

