Prayer circle

The way I see it, you don’t need to be in any religion to care deeply when someone’s mother is very ill. A dear friend of mine is caring for her mother, who is very ill with cancer, and she has asked for me to send my best thoughts and prayers so that her mother will be less afraid. I plan to do that, but I thought I’d use this blog for an unusual personal request.

If anyone who reads this blog could find it in their hearts to pray for my friend’s mother, I would appreciate it and I know that she would too. It’s not fair, this stupid cancer thing, and I’d feel much better if I knew that more than just little agnostic me would be pulling for her. I don’t know why this stuff happens but I feel inadequate in the face of it.

11 Responses to “Prayer circle”


  1. 1 Tim Archer February 26, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    I’d be more than happy to pray anytime you know someone that needs it. I learn a lot from your blog.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim

  2. 2 Shawna R. B. Atteberry February 26, 2007 at 9:34 pm

    I will pray for your friend’s mother too.

    Shawna Renee

  3. 4 Alien Drums February 26, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    I don’t think any of us really feel worthy of being listened to by God; but I will join you, my “little agnostic”, in praying. In fact, I’ll just pray here.

    Dear Father, cancer is such a painful thing for us, no pun intended. It hurts our hearts to see people we love hurt physically. We believe it hurts You, as well. I lift up to You this mother of Holly’s friend. Many of us have learned a great appreciation for Holly, and that connection we fill to her carries over in her connection to her friend. We ask for healing. We also pray that you will help this mother to see beyond the cancer and to You. Lord, help us all to understand better how to live with the pain of this world. I pray this in the name of Christ.

  4. 7 Gary February 27, 2007 at 5:14 am

    I’m there…what’s her name and what is exaclty wrong?

  5. 10 jWinters March 2, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    I’ll put her on the “permanent” side of my prayer list until I hear to do otherwise.

  6. 11 Donald B March 6, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    Father God … hear this searcher’s request. We all hate cancer God. And we ask that you would change this cancer situation. Dear God, heal the friend’s mother. But Father … as is always the case … Your will be done! And if your answer is no to my request, I pray for strength for the friends and families involved. Death and sickness are hard to deal with. Bless this family Lord God!
    Amen!


Leave a Reply

