Silence

I’m figuring out that the common theme in many of my more religious experiences is silence. The rational mind is a fantastic tool, but it’s not the only one, and spirituality for me is limited to moments in which the rational and even the verbal are quieted down so that something else can creep in. That’s not exactly what happened at the Quaker meeting Sunday. I could feel some of the rational stuff shutting down and something else taking over, but whatever it was, it was still me.

I think that practice is the key to letting the ultimate in, and so one day isn’t the way to evaluate the Quakers. But because this particular practice appealed to me and felt different from any other I’ve been to, this is the first church I’ve decided I’ll go back to.

2 Responses to “Silence”


  1. 1 tobeme February 6, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Holly,
    Silence is a key element in most religions. Why, because silence and stillness allows our minds to open doors of awareness, to seek within, the spirit, the soul, to connect with our source.


  1. 1 Church Marketing Sucks Trackback on February 6, 2007 at 1:36 am

Leave a Reply

