Alien Drums

Folks, I highly recommend the Alien Drums blog, also mentioned in my blogroll to the right. The sense of wonder and amazement for matters spiritual is inspiring.

It occurs to me that more than anything else, the sense of wonder and mystery is what I love about religion. Someone asked in the comments whether I was agnostic because I wondered where God came from. Oddly, I haven’t thought much about that, but the origins and pre-origins of things have always fascinated me. When you go that far back in time and mystery, religion and philosophy and even physics all start to sound very similar.

But I love more that the mystery isn’t and probably won’t be solved. For example, I love the story of Atlantis and I hope they never figure out whether it was real or a myth. (My bet: It’s a little of both.) I love that nobody knows how on earth the Egyptians were able to move those massive blocks of stone into the Pyramids, or how Stonehenge could possibly have been built, or why the Maya believed the world would end in 2012.

In fact, in some ways, to wonder at the mysteries of God’s creation is my way of praying.

7 Responses to “Alien Drums”


  1. 1 Andrea January 30, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Holly, you talk about mystery so beautifully. I have felt the same thing many times…often I don’t want to “research” or explore things too much because I don’t want to corrupt their mystery. It’s counter-intuitive, but I don’t want everything to make sense. I also love the Egyptian time period, Atlantis and the Loch Ness sea monster. I love that we don’t know what happened to Amelia Earhart. I love crop circles. And when things lose their wonder, a small part of us dies too. I think a fragment of the divine in us is our ability to participate in the mysteries of life.

  2. 2 kendra January 30, 2007 at 7:36 pm

    holly –

    i enjoy this blog. thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. even though we come from differing backgrounds, i found that i am challenged and sharpened in my faith when i read your beautiful prose.

  3. 3 hdolezalek January 30, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    You folks are very kind. It’s great to have some fellow mysterians along for the ride!

  4. 4 Alien Drums January 31, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Thanks for your kind words, Holly; and I love your word “mysterians.” That word simply has to stick.

    Your comment about origins reminded me of one of the most critical “moments” in my faith years ago in college. I was moving toward atheism, but finally it just made more sense, seem to be more plausible, that God created all of this as opposed to life coming out of non-life.

    Your are continuing that ages-old process by giving life to others through your words. Thanks.

  5. 5 lenn Hager February 1, 2007 at 12:42 am

    Holly,

    I’m glad that you enjoy “Alien Drums,” too. My friend, “The Mole” is an honest seeker of that which is true and beautiful and he can even deal with a little mystery.

    Personally, I feel that evangelical Christians have been too quick to come with “answers” to every question. Sometimes, they just don’t hold up well in the course of life and sometimes I can even think of biblical “exceptions” to those “answers.”

    If God is God, He will be somewhat mysterious.

  6. 6 Dale Callahan February 1, 2007 at 1:36 am

    I also love a good mystery, and I have found that the Christian faith at its origin is mysterious. The God of Scriptures tells us that His thoughts and ways are above ours. God tells us that He has revealed things but also secret things.
    Even God’s being is mysterious. God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit, three persons but one God, this is not a contradiction, it is a mystery. The Bible teaches that God has predestined all things, even the salvation and damnation of men, but He has done so in such a way that men are still free, a mystery. It is at this point that people show that they usually like the ‘mysterious’ that they create and not the ones that God reveals.

    When we define ourselves the labels “agnostic” and “atheist” are options. But when we look to God, He tells us that there are no such creatures.
    In Romans One God tells us that He has revealed Himself in the created order in such a way that His eternal attributes are clearly seen…so much so that men are without excuse for not submitting to Him.

    Thanks for your thougts.

  7. 7 rjlight February 6, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    I think you have a wonderful perspective. Evangelical have taken so much of the mystery out of seeking God. It has become a “holy” to-do list. Not enough time is spent on pondering the wonders of the universe and its Creator. The awe has been replaced by routine and worthless “christian” verbage. How nice it is to hear someone embrace the mystery and beauty of God.


Leave a Reply

