A break from reasons…

Gary’s comment on my Reason # 3 post pointed out to me that I haven’t clarified my religious beliefs lately. So I thought I’d declare that a little more directly. I believe in God, and as such am not an atheist.

As far as I know, atheists are people who don’t believe in God, and agnostics believe in God but don’t know the nature of God – or whether the religions know what they’re talking about when they say they do. Hence, I call myself an agnostic – someone who doesn’t know the nature of God but does think there is a God out there.

 All the religions generally seem to have some belief or fundamental precept that I can’t agree with, and my agnosticism is in part due to that and in part due to the fact that almost all of my experience of God has happened outside of formal religious practice.

And now back to our regularly scheduled programming…

1 Response to “A break from reasons…”


  1. 1 Jason January 30, 2007 at 5:13 am

    Can you further interpret “nature of God” – does that mean where or how God became or came from? Because if that is the case, consider me in the agnostic group then too!

    Your comment about experience with God happened outside of religion, that I couldnt agree more with!


Leave a Reply

