Reason #1: Family ties

To begin at the beginning, the first reason I am an agnostic is that I was not raised to be religious. This is one of the minor reasons. I believe that if I were meant to be religious, not being raised in it would not have kept me from it.

I think some people’s commitment to religion comes in part from their fond memories and the secure feeling that comes from an association with family. Since I don’t have those associations, religion doesn’t have the same appeal for me as a Jew who has always been in a practicing Jewish family or a Catholic who went to midnight Mass every Christmas. There’s more, much more, but that was an easy one to start with.

1 Response to “Reason #1: Family ties”


  1. 1 Gary January 29, 2007 at 5:03 am

    Ok, I get that one. But think about this. My family was not religious. My father was an alcoholic and my mother was a compulsive gambler. So “religion” doesn’t make much sense to me either. But world view does because we all have one. It just so happens that my world view is a “Jesus” centered one.

    Now, from what I understand the agnostic world view is more about God than it is about institutional religion.

    “Agnosticism (from the Greek a, meaning “without” and gnosis, “knowledge”, translating to unknowable) is the philosophical view that the truth value of certain claims—particularly theological claims regarding metaphysics, afterlife or the existence of God, god(s), or deities—is unknown or (possibly) inherently unknowable. Some agnostics take a stronger view that the concept of a deity is incoherent, thus meaningless and irrelevant to life[citation needed]. “Agnostic” was introduced by Thomas Henry Huxley in 1869 to describe his philosophy. The term agnostic is also used to describe those who are unconvinced or noncommittal about the existence of deities as well as about other matters of religion.

    Early Christian church leaders used the Greek word gnosis (knowledge) to describe “spiritual knowledge”. Agnosticism is not to be confused with religious views opposing the doctrine of gnosis and Gnosticism— these are religious concepts that are not generally related to agnosticism.

    Agnostics claim either that it is not possible to have absolute or certain knowledge or, alternatively, that while certainty may be possible, they personally have no knowledge. Agnosticism in both cases involves some form of skepticism.” From Wikipedia…

    So I guess my question is more about why you do not believe in God? Or what about the whole God question confuses you?


Leave a Reply

