First up: Asbury United Methodist

This week will be my first visit to church, and I decided to stick close to home and go somewhere where I could walk to church. So I’m going to Asbury United Methodist, which is just a few blocks away. So I’ve consulted my borrowed copy of, I’m not kidding, The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Christianity. One of my friends once said, “What’s not to like about the Methodists? Who didn’t love the Wesley brothers?” She’s a divinity student, so she gets to say things like this, but as for me, I’ll just say that The Idiot’s Guide was written for folks just like me.

From Chapter 15, I have now learned that John Wesley “preached the Pietist doctrine that Christians mustn’t just say they’re Christians, but must also live as if the grace of God was at work in their souls. He urged them to greater practical devotion to God and to greater holiness in lifestyle.” I like the sound of that. It will be interesting to see how that’s applied.

4 Responses to “First up: Asbury United Methodist”


  1. 1 Chuck Warnock January 5, 2007 at 12:07 am

    Holly, early in the history of Methodism in the U.S., Methodists were called “people of the warm heart and good life.” Look forward to your take on your local UMC congregation — and I’m a Baptist!

  2. 2 Springhill_ryan January 6, 2007 at 2:20 am

    I look forward to the results of this blog. I am in a new developing church and we have new, unchurched people every week. The biggest struggle is how to make the visitor card not a big red hat that says, “HEY, I’M NEW HERE”. How do you make the visitor not feel like a stranger?

  3. 3 Susan January 6, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    Hi! A friend pointed me here. I’m doing the same study here in Missouri, visiting a different church every week. I missed a couple of weeks over the holiday, but the results are on my blog. I’ve hit the Methodists, the Presbyterians and two different flavors of Baptist so far. I look forward to comparing notes with you, if you’re interested!

  4. 4 Heidelberg Kindergeburtstag April 15, 2013 at 2:14 am

    I absolutely love your blog.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you create this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own personal site and would like to find out where you got this from or what the theme is named. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

